The International Dance Council

It is the international organization of all forms of dance of all countries of the world.


On November 12, 1973, the No.1 of Miollis Street, a room of U.N.E.S.C.O. to a hundred representatives from numerous countries in order to constitute the first committee for the creation of the International Dance Council. The assembly then adopted the bylaws and an intermediary committee was elected to attend the first general assembly.

During this training period, Madame Janine was elected to the presidency
Alexandre-Debray and five vice-presidents: S.E. N’Sougan Agblemagnon; ambassador
from Togo, writer and dance specialist; also to Josefina Lavalle, choreographer,
Director of the Academy of Dance of Mexico and F.O.N.A.D.A.N; to Francis
Francis; organizer of ballet demonstrations, representative of important Dance Archives at the Lincoln Center in the US, M. Krishnamurti of the Embassy of India; Bengt Häger, Swede, historian, director of the first Dance Museum in Sweden.
The Executive Council of U.N.E.S.C.O. In its 97th session of May 1975, it unanimously decided to admit the International Dance Council CIDD as an international non-governmental member, category B, in relations related to information and consultation.


The general director of the U.N.E.S.C.O. Mr. Amadou Mahtar M’Bow sent Mr. Pierre le Harivel to Stockholmo to announce this decision of the general assembly.

The Honorary Presidents of the C.I.D.D. they were: Kurt Joos, (R. F.A)., first Honorary President; Bengt Häger (Sweden) President of Honor. The Members of Honor were: Princess Cristina Mme. Magnusson (Sweden); Alicia Alonso (Cuba); Antonio (Spain); Maurice Béjart (France); Yvette Chauviré (France); Birgit Cullberg (Sweden); Fleming Flindt (Denmark); Dame Margot Fonteyn (Panama); Rolf Liebermann (Switzerland); Mariemma (Spain); Jean Mercure (France); Igor Moiseev and


Vladimir Vassilliecov, (Russian Fed.); Alwin Nikolaïs (USA); Geneviève Oswald (USA); Mario Porcile (Italy); Bethsabée de Rothschild (Israel); Kapila Vatsyayan (India) and Franco Zeffirelli (Italy). The first presidents of the C.I.D.D were: Janine Alexandre-Debray (France), Kurt Jooss (R.F.A) and Bengt Häger (Sweden) respectively.
The "International Council of the Dansa CIDD". It was reopened on April 5, 2019 in Spain by the United Nations Arts.
Its current president is the international dancer Barbara Thompson Viu, nicknamed as the ambassador of artists in the world.

Its members are the most recognized international, national and local institutions as well as active members in the disciplines:


  • Classics
  • Ballroom dancing
  • Medieval dance
  • Figure skating on ice
  • Ballet
  • Ribbons Ballet
  • Modern
  • Rock And Roll
  • Pop
  • Rock
  • sauce
  • Tango
  • Hip hop
  • Break dance
  • Arabic dance.
  • Folk dance
  • Latin Rhythms

Collaborate with international organizations and government institutions for the benefit of all dancers.

Its members are the most important federations, associations, schools, companies and people in 170 countries.

It is associated with the Union of Organizations the United Nations of Arts & Sciences.


C.I.D.D. It is the Organization that protects all educators, researchers, students, professionals and their entities in the world of Dance.


C.I.D.D. It is an extensive work team created by professionals and young people from the three most prestigious universities in the world, whose logistics are based on the current reality projected to the era of nanotechnology.


C.I.D.D. It is not commercial: it has no products, services for sale or sponsors.


C.I.D.D. It is based on the United Nations precepts of all the arts, respecting all athletes, inventors, ideologues, educators, students, practitioners and researchers as their entities without distinctions of races, ethnicities, ideologies, countries, customs and religion.


C.I.D.D. It is the most direct link to Unesco councils through the United Nations of Arts & Sciences, as well as to government entities.



Consell Internacional de la Dansa CIDD